Transition from Prosecution to Big Law Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Transition from Prosecution to Big Law

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi All,

Interested in some advice on attempting to transition from prosecution to big law. I graduated from a top 3 law school in 2011 with average grades, and then worked at the Manhattan DA's Office for about 5 years (lots of trial experience, mostly violent crime). Last year I moved to main justice, where I've been for about a year. I work on cool, federal criminal cases, building big investigations that always plead out (0 trials in the last year). I'm committed to two more years in my section, at which point I would have 8 years in the public sector (combined federal/state prosecution).

I naively never really worried about my sorry financial state, but now that I have kids, I want to try to transition to big law. Is it wiser to try to get into a white collar/cybercrime section at DOJ before attempting the move to the private sector? That would mean committing at least two more years after I finish my current commitment, however. Or, is just "trial experience" enough to sell Big Law, even if most of it is in violent/organized crime?

Thank you for taking the time to read. Any thoughts, anecdotes, etc greatly appreciated.

Anonymous User

Re: Transition from Prosecution to Big Law

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:45 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Hi All,