Advice for job seeker in public sector? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advice for job seeker in public sector?

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:04 am

I'm a 2016 law school grad, passed the bar. I went to a top 20 school and my grades were decent. I completed a fellowship at a nonprofit legal organization, but they didn't end up hiring me. Now I'm left finding another position.
I want to be a staff attorney at a nonprofit somewhere. I'm also open to government positions or JD advantage positions in the nonprofit sector. I am shying away from small/mid law because I have no experience with them on my resume, and I would rather work for a place that lets me get on loan forgiveness.
I have enough money to last a few months, but of course I'm super nervous and freaked out about not having a job. I don't want to move back with my parents, who live in another state anyway where I can't practice law.
Has anyone out there been in a similar situation before, and if so how did you manage?

Civilservant

New

Re: Advice for job seeker in public sector?

Post by Civilservant » Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:01 pm