V20 NYC lateral to Texas with no ties? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

V20 NYC lateral to Texas with no ties?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 16, 2017 7:31 pm

I am a second year associate at a V20 in NYC and have been doing a mix of corporate work, but lately mostly Lev Fin and Cap Markets. I graduated from a T6 school with decent grades and have no ties to Texas, but have read several articles about how money goes so much further there and have been exploring the possibility of relocating there. Does anyone have any experience with the Texas lateral market from NYC, particularly absent any ties to Texas? I understand that the Texas lateral market is active right now, but not at all sure what kind of a chance someone would have coming from NYC with no ties. If anyone has been in this situation and could offer any advice, I would appreciate it. Also, if anyone has lateraled from NYC to Texas and could tell me about their experience, that would be great! I understand that given that I have not been practicing for 5 years, I would need to take the Texas bar - do people generally just do the whole Barbri course all over again? I also understand the Austin market is small and definitely requires ties, but as between Houston or Dallas, I would really have no preference.

magnum_law

Bronze

Re: V20 NYC lateral to Texas with no ties?

Post by magnum_law » Tue May 16, 2017 7:53 pm

"meet" a "financé" who is "from Texas"

Devlin

Silver

Post by Devlin » Tue May 16, 2017 10:45 pm