Urgent help - is it worth the risk?? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Urgent help - is it worth the risk??

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:24 pm

Hi there, I am an LLM graduate who passed ny bar and living in Tx. I am currently looking for a job in Houston in the field of immigration law. I recently got an offer from an attorney who was rated poorly by many on avvo, yelp and google. I still took the risk and went and joined. No contract nothing. She just sent an email about the salary she would pay.

It's been about 2 days. She just has a secretary who is a high school pass out and dresses inappropriately. What scared me most was - she never attends and returns client calls properly. Comes to office at 2 or 3pm. She told me yesterday she had a court appointment - that's ok, today she tells me that she had to go to the bank and there was some problem there (who the hell gives such lame excuses). The clients who were supposed to meet her got angry and asked for a refund of their money. There were also clients yelling on phone why she has not returned calls.
She convinces me that they were dodgy clients. I am like whatttt.....