Biglaw in Northern Virginia? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
sj0101

New

Biglaw in Northern Virginia?

Post by sj0101 » Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:47 pm

Last edited by sj0101 on Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

haus

Gold

Re: Biglaw in Northern Virginia?

Post by haus » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:40 am

Although this is not my kettle of fish, I have been working in Northern Virginia for roughly two decades. I suspect that the biggest corporate presence (and thus likely the biggest customers for the law firms) in the area are government/military contractors (a.k.a. beltway bandits), and to a lesser extent tech companies that are either based in NoVa or have significant presence here.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:22 am

Associate in a NoVa satellite office here.

(1) The bulk of our work is for clients not based in NoVa, for the same types of clients the main office supports. There is some work from local government contractor/defense/aerospace/tech clients, but that's not our focus.