Why are ties to the area necesssary? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Why are ties to the area necesssary?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:56 pm

I am a student from a T2 who transferred into the T-14. Of my 10 screeners for OCI only 1 is in my previous area, and the rest are from the following markets: NY, DC, Boston, and CA. I don't have any ties to any of these areas other than my girlfriend lives in Boston, and I have always wanted to work in the other cities. Can someone explain to me why having ties to an area is necessary at all? Isn't it enough to just explain in the interview that I permanently left my hometown state in order to have better career opportunities, and now I am simply looking for jobs in the areas that I would like to live? If this is not sufficient (and I would love an explanation as to why) then should I just lie?

Anonymous User

Re: Why are ties to the area necesssary?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:14 pm