Debt Collection Work Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
LeninLunchbox

New

Debt Collection Work

Post by LeninLunchbox » Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:15 pm

Hey TLS,

So I'm a 2015 grad, no debt, but still looking for real lawyer work. Needless to say it's been slow. I just got an offer for a $45k/yr gig with a debt collection firm in a major city. Supposedly the job will involve a lot of time in court and provide real training. My focus has always been litigation, and, assuming I can convince myself to sleep at night, it seems like the work itself might be valuable.

Needless to say, I'm eager to end the ceaseless job search, and I'm strongly considering taking the job. Does anyone have any experience with this flavor of "shitlaw?" Is it an absolute career kiss of death? Will anyone consider it real litigation experience? Is the work so odious no one can stand it long? I'm not looking for validation, I'd really like to hear it worts and all from a lawyer who's done debt collection work.

Anonymous User

Re: Debt Collection Work

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:27 pm

I do not work at one of these firms but have litigated against them for pro bono clients (both defending and pursing FCDPA violations). I'd be suspicious of the claim you'll get real litigation experience. Most of it is cut and paste volume work with very low margins and as a result I'm not sure how much real experience you actually get