Backing out from a federal judge after acceptance Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Backing out from a federal judge after acceptance

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:38 pm

Hi everyone,

Im an international student, and I got a 1L job to extern for a federal district judge for the summer and accepted his offer.
The problem is that I also got a biglaw offer job, who would sponsor me to stay in the US once I graduate.
I haven't accepted since I got the judge's job, and was looking for advice on what to do.

If I don't get a firm that sponsors me, I would have to go back to my original country.
(chances are OCI strike out)

T20 school.

Anonymous User

Re: Backing out from a federal judge after acceptance

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:40 pm

100% renege

GreenEggs

Gold

Post by GreenEggs » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:40 pm

Sounds like a no brainer to take the job with the potential of sponsorship, but you have to look into how this might affect you with CSO. Some schools might ban you from CSO for accepting and then ditching a judge (especially a federal one).
Last edited by GreenEggs on Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mullens

Silver

Post by Mullens » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:40 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Hi everyone,

Im an international student, and I got a 1L job to extern for a federal district judge for the summer and accepted his offer.
The problem is that I also got a biglaw offer job, who would sponsor me to stay in the US once I graduate.