How useful is ACEDS certification Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How useful is ACEDS certification

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Apr 02, 2016 2:42 pm

I am a midlaw lit associate with otherwise shitty credentials. Always loved technology and liked e-discovery. How useful is getting an ACEDS certification if I want to help my options getting other options? (in house)

TLSModBot

Diamond

Re: How useful is ACEDS certification

Post by TLSModBot » Sat Apr 02, 2016 2:47 pm

Not very. I'm a 9-year veteran of E-Discovery (and just now graduating law school) - the certifications are just pieces of paper and are not really worth the money. I looked at ACEDS a while back and while it's probably the best of the bunch, it really doesn't do much for your resume.

ACEDS *might* help to a small extent with some E-Discovery vendors but firms and in-house won't, I think, give a shit.

Also where would you go in-house where Discovery experience would be a positive/matter? Not snark actually curious.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Apr 02, 2016 3:04 pm

Capitol_Idea wrote:Not very. I'm a 9-year veteran of E-Discovery (and just now graduating law school) - the certifications are just pieces of paper and are not really worth the money. I looked at ACEDS a while back and while it's probably the best of the bunch, it really doesn't do much for your resume.

ACEDS *might* help to a small extent with some E-Discovery vendors but firms and in-house won't, I think, give a shit.