Used & Abused-Employment Issues Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
mouse89

New

Used & Abused-Employment Issues

Post by mouse89 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:50 am

I've always felt like private smaller firms (non OCI basically) were taking advantage of new grads and law students, but I never really felt it so acutely until the other day.

Small two-person firm in a big city (couple of years old) with a self acclaimed heavy case load (think multiples of 100). I'm a new grad-awaiting bar results, two relevant non profits and two relevant small firms on my resume, multilingual (big pro for my area), solid grades, good references. Received offer to work part time. Was informed the next morning that pay was $10 per hour.

I realize that beggars can't be choosers but it felt like a huge slap in the face. JD and, possibly, bar admission for $10 per hour? For the record, that is less than what I made in the past two years of my law school work and also less than what I made working retail in college.

Anyone else dealing with this kind of stuff? I countered. The experience would be nice, but I can't even reconcile that and my student loans enough to make it acceptable for me.

I never really considered public government work even though I am pro-public interest. Officially considering it.

ClubberLang

Bronze

Re: Used & Abused-Employment Issues

Post by ClubberLang » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:14 pm

Just say no. You're better than that, and it truly is an insulting offer.

mouse89

New