Immigration at BigLaw? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
unclepete

Bronze

Immigration at BigLaw?

Post by unclepete » Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:46 pm

So, I was a paralegal at a very large immigration firm before LS (the only such firm), and I really want to practice in that area. I'd love to either go back to that firm as an attorney or clerk for the immigration courts after grad. However, that firm does not do OCI in my Southern California city.

I am transferring to a school that will have all of the BigLaw firms at OCI, and I am finding it very difficult not to make bids (the "what if i turn down this opportunity and can't find anything in the public sector and I`m screwed" syndrome). However, I am not interested in most of the practice areas at these firms. I could handle the hours if I was doing something I love, like immigration.

Do any of these firms have a business immigration practice within them? Anyone know of any large companies that have in-house immigration attorneys I can reach out to?

Thanks!

unclepete

Bronze

Re: Immigration at BigLaw?

Post by unclepete » Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:33 pm

Anyone?

Diamond

Post by 09042014 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:49 pm

While you might be able to find it, I really doubt it. Nobody is paying biglaw money for immigration work.

unclepete

Bronze

Post by unclepete » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:07 pm