Negotiate salary for first attorney job out of law school? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
SDviaVA

Bronze

Negotiate salary for first attorney job out of law school?

Post by SDviaVA » Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:29 am

Should I try to negotiate my salary if I am offered my first attorney position?

I just finished a second round of interviews last week with a small law firm. I am expecting to hear if they are offering me the position this week.

I graduated law school in May 2013, passed the bar, and have been clerking for judge since last August.

XxSpyKEx

Gold

Re: Negotiate salary for first attorney job out of law school?

Post by XxSpyKEx » Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:39 pm

SDviaVA wrote:Should I try to negotiate my salary if I am offered my first attorney position?

I just finished a second round of interviews last week with a small law firm. I am expecting to hear if they are offering me the position this week.

I graduated law school in May 2013, passed the bar, and have been clerking for judge since last August.
Can't hurt to try at a small firm- it probably is negotiable to some extent.

SDviaVA

Bronze

Post by SDviaVA » Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:47 pm

XxSpyKEx wrote:
SDviaVA wrote:Should I try to negotiate my salary if I am offered my first attorney position?

I guess my only worry would be that they would retract the offer if I am too far above what they were hoping to pay someone in the position they have open. Does this ever happen? Also I don't want to start off the job on the wrong foot.