IP Interview - How to frame yourself w/out technical degree Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

IP Interview - How to frame yourself w/out technical degree

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:12 am

I searched the site for awhile and couldn't find much on this topic. If its already been discussed somewhere, someone please point me in the right direction.

I have an upcoming interview with an IP firm. However, I'm not patent bar eligible (I have a finance degree). I'm not sure how much patent prosecution the firm does compared to trademark/copyright/litigation, but the firms website really emphasizing the number of patents they prosecute per year.

How can I frame myself to make me a strong candidate even though I don't have a technical background? I'm primarily am interested in litigation, so I obviously will emphasize that. Any other advice?

Thanks!

anonymous2012

New

Re: IP Interview - How to frame yourself w/out technical degree

Post by anonymous2012 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:08 am

I don't think there is anyway to make yourself an attractive candidate for patent prosecution without a patent bar eligible degree.

Focus on copyright and trademark.

Dr. Review

Gold

Post by Dr. Review » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:11 am