Graduated, jobless, need advice Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Graduated, jobless, need advice

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:52 pm

I graduated last spring & passed the bar. I am getting a lot of interviews and no decent offers. I have had a few big law interviews, several middle market interviews, and some shit law interviews and am getting rejected left and right. I don't think I am doing anything wrong in interviews, I just think I tend to be boring and unable to leave much of an impression.

After bar results came out, I got a bunch of interviews. I got a shit law offer right away, but because I had lined up some other much better interviews and had some contacts at those firms, I was optimistic that I could get a better job. The other two firms pay literally twice as much and the interviews were scheduled for after the date the shit law firm wanted me to start. As you can imagine, I didn't get either job and now I'm beginning to wonder if declining the offer was a huge mistake. I have no interviews lined up at this point. Is it just slow because of the holidays, or did I miss the boat?

Any advice? Should I just take the next offer I get, no matter what, or should I hold out for a job I will really enjoy? Will such a job ever come?

Details

Market: Atlanta
School: University of Georgia (ranked 34)
Class standing: top 25%
Journal: Yes, but not LR
-Decent internships
-Bar admitted

Gorki

Silver

Re: Graduated, jobless, need advice