Case study interview Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Case study interview

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:54 am

Has anyone had a case study during an interview for a law firm? Not a finance-type position, but normal summer associate. I'd appreciate any information or tips. I have no experience with this kind of thing.

Anonymous User

Re: Case study interview

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:23 pm

was this a US firm? pretty sure they give u a fact pattern and put u under pressure to spot issues, maka arguments, etc...

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:35 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Has anyone had a case study during an interview for a law firm? Not a finance-type position, but normal summer associate. I'd appreciate any information or tips. I have no experience with this kind of thing.
Mine was totally out of the blue, at the end of a behavioral interview. Had a very small amount of time, was given a 3 paragraph fact pattern, 1 statute w/4 elements, 3 cases for each of the 4 elements... It was designed in a way that one of the elements was intentionally hard to do, so you were wise to work on it last or just acknowledge the confusion in that area of law and move on... I know a few others that did not realize it was sort of a trick, and were unable to finish their entire memo.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:24 pm