federal district clerkship with a family member? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

federal district clerkship with a family member?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:02 pm

I'm a HYS student and my mom's cousin is a federal district judge. I don't know him all that well but he and my mom are pretty close. Is it okay to apply for a clerkship with him or is that sketchy/nepotism?

Bronte

Gold

Re: federal district clerkship with a family member?

Post by Bronte » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:09 pm

I don't think he would be allowed to hire you. See 5 U.S.C. § 3110. That's just from a quick Google search, but it seems like common sense.

tsutsik

Bronze

Post by tsutsik » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:24 pm

Bronte wrote:I don't think he would be allowed to hire you. See 5 U.S.C. § 3110. That's just from a quick Google search, but it seems like common sense.
Not that this is what this thread is about, but it doesn't look like Mom's cousin meets the definition of 'relative' in the statute you cited.

IAFG

Platinum

Post by IAFG » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Why don't you reach out to him, tell him you are thinking of applying to clerk and ask for general mentoring about the process. If he wants to hire you or put in a good word with someone else, he will.

Bronte

Gold

Post by Bronte » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:29 pm

tsutsik wrote:
Bronte wrote:I don't think he would be allowed to hire you. See 5 U.S.C. § 3110. That's just from a quick Google search, but it seems like common sense.