Exit Options from County Attorney's Office (major city) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Exit Options from County Attorney's Office (major city)

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:21 pm

I am wondering what the exit options are from a job in a County Attorney's office. It's a major city, and I was offered a paid term-time clerkship that would extend to the summer and assured there would be openings about the time I graduated.

The division itself, from what I understand, involves advising elected and appointed officials about things like elections, business development, land development, taxes, etc. Does this type of job have good exit options, or should I be aiming for something more traditional like District Attorney or U.S. Attorney (these would probably be unpaid)?

I was told in the interview that they go to the state capitol a lot during the legislative session and that their attorneys are often interacting with members of the state legislature. I'm not sure how this fits in the general duties of the office however.

Since I have an interest in policy and politics, is this a good starting job for that sort of thing?

splitmuch

Silver

Re: Exit Options from County Attorney's Office (major city)

Post by splitmuch » Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:29 pm