raising competitiveness from a TTT Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

raising competitiveness from a TTT

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:14 pm

I graduated top 1% at a TTT(T). I'm fortunate enough to not have any debt from law school (scholarship and grandparents paid the rest), and I have a job next year clerking in the federal district court (magistrate judge). I don't really have a desire to work for BigLaw right away for the obvious reason that hours are brutal for an associate and I don't really need the huge salary to pay off student loans. Ideally I'd like to work federal government, but there are so few openings these days and I think I'm pretty in touch with the realities that no matter how well I did at school, its still a TTT and I won't be very competitive against even people who graduated middle-low end of their class at a T14.

I'm looking for a way to raise my competitiveness. Options I am considering:
-LLM from Columbia or NYU
-trying to clerk for a district judge (still a long shot) or appeals judge (an even longer shot)
-PhD in law from Yale (teaching sounds like an easy lifestyle and I wouldn't mind working at a lower ranked school)
-DOJ honors program?

Advice is welcome!

rayiner

Platinum

Re: raising competitiveness from a TTT

Post by rayiner » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:19 pm

Where is your school? I don't think a district judge in your region is out of the question, especially if you can work your professors for recommendations.