two friends, eight years out Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

two friends, eight years out

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 08, 2012 11:38 am

In 2004, my best friend and I graduated from college. I went to law school at CCN. He started his own Subway restaurant with, I believe, $20k in capital as part of a partnership with two other friends.

Here's the last 8 years for both of us:

Me: I graduated CCN class of 2007. Worked big law from 2007-10. From 2010-present I've been in a two-year district clerkship in a flyover district. And this September, I will finish that. I have a job lined up with my old firm.

Him: His Subway partnership expanded. He also went into solo ventures. He presently owns 14 Subways (in either partnership or solo form), 3 laundromats, and 2 gas stations. All that, in 8 years. From February to May, he went to China for a three-month trip. Just for the shits. Didn't work. Because we're very close, I learned he makes $700k a year profit from all his partnerships, and doesn't have to work at all because he is a passive investor in all his ventures. He can literally, do, anything he wants, and his businesses pay for his life. This year, he plans on diversifying out and investing in foreclosed commercial property so he can be a commercial landlord - another lazy way to make money.