Really Interested in Patent Law, BUT..... Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
raiderrobert

New

Really Interested in Patent Law, BUT.....

Post by raiderrobert » Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:06 am

I don't have a science degree. I have an English degree and an MBA; however, I did spend the last 2 years of my life getting a minor in physics (24 hours). So yes, I know the requirements for the patent bar.

But I've some whispers on this board that without a degree in EE or some other hard science (not CS) that I'm fooling myself: I could pass the patent bar, but I probably couldn't get a job afterwards because all the people interviewing me would look at my resume and immediately pass over it for someone else with an engineering degree.

Like I said, I really, really find patent law interesting, and I've been working toward getting into it for the past 2 years. However, I'm not stupid enough to drop $100k on a degree and then realize--in the eyes of hiring authorities at law firms and corporation--I've been shining poop. So please tell me if I'm being stupid.

(Also, I've been admitted to Franklin Pierce for their IP program. First impression of that law school name, please?)

Anonymous User

Re: Really Interested in Patent Law, BUT.....

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:19 am