Career path of a lawyer (especially in IP) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
collegebum1989

Bronze

Career path of a lawyer (especially in IP)

Post by collegebum1989 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:33 am

I'm an engineer, and recently I've been piqued by the unique niche career in intellectual property/patent law. From what I've read, it is a good mix of technical/non-technical work balance, while being complemented with a strong demand and compensation.

What does a traditional career path for a lawyer specially in ip look like say 10 years after law school, 20 years? I've always been interested in entrepreneurship and startup companies, do some patent lawyers exit the legal industry and either work as executives or consultants in industry?

My main dilemma is that I'm in a masters program in engineering right now, and debating whether or not to go to graduate school to do a PhD or go into law school. Im not not interested in a research-oriented career but i am interested in the development of new ideas into business practices. I want to use my engineering knowledge to develop novel ideas, but not in a lab, per se. Is this something a career in patent law would allow me to do?

I ask because, I do not identify myself as completely a scientist or completely a lawyer...so I'm not sure if a career in patent law would be a step in the right direction.

All feedback/experience would be great! Thank you.

r6_philly

Diamond

Re: Career path of a lawyer (especially in IP)