State Supreme Court vs. Federal District Court Clerkship Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
abenson25

New

State Supreme Court vs. Federal District Court Clerkship

Post by abenson25 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:36 pm

I am looking for some opinions. I am going to preface this with am an evening student at Duquense University in Pittsburgh. I have two small children at home and stay home with them during the day, so the evening was my only option and moving was not option, so Duquesne was it. I am in my second year right now, and am looking into an externship for the summer. I am in the top 10% of my class, have a Masters degree in Forensic Science and am hoping to clerk this summer. I have someone offering to help with a federal district court clerkship and another person offering help getting an externship with the State Supreme Court. I am not sure which would be the better option. I know the federal court is better, but since the state clerkship would be with the Supreme Court for the state, I am unsure. Just looking for general opinions on the two. Thanks!!

ggocat

Gold

Re: State Supreme Court vs. Federal District Court Clerkship

Post by ggocat » Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:00 pm

(First, as a matter of clarity, it is generally understood that an "internship" or "externship" is undertaken while in school whereas a "clerkship" is post-graduate employment. From the context of the OP, it sounds like you're talking about internships/externships only.)