Working during law school Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Working during law school

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:29 pm

Who here has worked part time legal job during full time law school? Care to share your experiences?

Anonymous User

Re: Working during law school

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:49 pm

I'm a student rep for Westlaw/Lexis. It's awesome, basically paid to hang out in the computer lab and do my homework in between random student questions. Plus it's convenient to be right on campus for your job. I'd say get a job with one of these two companies if you're looking to make some extra cash during law school without adding a lot to your already full plate of other things to do.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:26 pm

I've had an externship, clinic, or RAship every semester of law school. The time commitment is obviously serious, but doable if you have great organizational skills and the ability to fit things in whenever (reading for class on the subway, for example). And the practical experience has been fun, helpful in understanding concepts in class, and useful at work.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:04 pm

I worked as an engineer part time (20 hrs/week) for my first two years of law school (fulltime). I did a summer associateship, and and I am now working at the firm part-time(20-30 hrs/week) during my last year. Easy Peasy.

what do you want to know?

Anonymous User