Sidley Austin vs. Mayer Brown (Chicago) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Which is better for Chicago litigation

Sidley Austin
79%
Mayer Brown
21%

Total votes: 48

Anonymous User

Sidley Austin vs. Mayer Brown (Chicago)

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Aug 28, 2011 2:59 pm

I am pretty new to this and have cb's with these two in the next few weeks. Not trying to put the cart before the horse, just trying to gauge which firm is preferable for litigation. I know Sidley has the higher Vault ranking for whatever that's worth but I was curious what the board thinks in terms of pure litigation (not just appellate).

Thanks a bunch.

rayiner

Platinum

Re: Sidley Austin vs. Mayer Brown (Chicago)

Post by rayiner » Sun Aug 28, 2011 3:03 pm

Mayer is better for lit, but Sidley is more stable.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Aug 28, 2011 3:04 pm

rayiner wrote:Mayer is better for lit, but Sidley is more stable.
Would you mind expounding on this? I know Sidley has had bigger classes of late but MB is a Chicago giant so I assume it isn't really going anywhere.

Did both firms offer 100% of the 2011 summer class?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:10 pm

Mayer Chicago had 11 summers in '10, and 13 summers this year. Based on reports from NU's OCI, they're projecting a similar class this year. That's not just "Sidley taking bigger classes of late" --- that's a 400 attorney office taking just a trickle of summer associates for three years in a row.

alabamabound

Bronze