Practicing in CA with a Seattle University degree. Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
LearnedFeet

New

Practicing in CA with a Seattle University degree.

Post by LearnedFeet » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:19 pm

I'm a student of Seattle University School of Law, class of 2012. I wanted to ask SU graduates, and those who practice in CA, about how far the SU degree reaches, and if it has any presence in CA. A professor assured me that a Seattle University degree would be "fine" anywhere on the west coast including CA, but the ranking of the school plus the sheer amount of competition in the state makes me skeptical.

I have a fairly big decision to make upon graduation -- whether to take the CA bar and try to make it there right away, or to work in Seattle a few years to establish myself first. If it helps decide things, I'm an average student at the 50th percentile.

Thanks in advance.

BarbellDreams

Gold

Re: Practicing in CA with a Seattle University degree.

Post by BarbellDreams » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:57 pm

Without insane connections, extreme luck or at minimum top 20% I would say you don't have a very good chance.

AnyRandChangedmylife

New

Post by AnyRandChangedmylife » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:03 pm

I would think pretty good, as you only have to cross Oregon to get to California. And once you are past Oregon, you are in the Golden State. The west coast is pretty tight, you know.