Paying Taxes for Summer Job Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
MPMP

New

Paying Taxes for Summer Job

Post by MPMP » Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:37 pm

This may be a retarded question, but I'm sure someone will know the answer. Can we get back the state and federal income taxes we will pay as summer associates? I know as an undergrad this was the case, and I got huge tax returns every spring because I was a student, but I'm not sure if this applies to grad students as well.

If not, are those of you with BigLaw gigs basically getting hosed and losing like .. 7 or 8k this summer to taxes?

MPMP

New

Re: Paying Taxes for Summer Job

Post by MPMP » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:18 pm

G. T. L. Rev. wrote:O HAI. I'm the Internal Revenue Code. Don't think we've met yet . . . .