Foreign Attorney and Big Law Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Pavla

New

Foreign Attorney and Big Law

Post by Pavla » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:42 pm

Hi guys,

I would like your view.
I am a foreign trained attorney (green card) with MBA from good school. I was practicing and taught law at high profile Univ. When I moved here (1 year ago) I thought I should go for law career because this is the only thing I know how to do (and love it).
I got in LLM program (top 5), passed on it after understanding that if I want to be USA lawyer I would be better off with JD. I work on LSAT (will be taking it in October). I score 170+ ( I need 178) for top LS.
I will love to do the Supreme Court clerkship and teach in some good school. Maybe practice in Big LAw for a while.
But no matter how much I practice writing and /or speaking, English will always be my second language. I understand that I will not be able to do litigation and criminal law (that is fine). I wanna do corporate law and finances.
Does the person with accent and obviously foreign born has a chances for a successful career in big law and teaching law at good University? Or this kind of people are always looked at as outsiders and passed on for the good opportunity no matter how fancy degree they have?

I have my doubts whether to spend my time and go on with law, or look at pure financial sphere, where math talks.

Any thoughts?

reasonable_man

Gold

Re: Foreign Attorney and Big Law

Post by reasonable_man » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:51 pm