Job Opportunities in Antitrust Law? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
tomato8

New

Job Opportunities in Antitrust Law?

Post by tomato8 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:05 pm

Hi All,

I'm currently a 0L considering going to law school. I have an undergrad degree in economics. Although I'm interested in econ, I don't think I would be able to handle the intense math in an econ PhD program. I did some online research and going into antitrust law seemed like an interesting path for me since I'm really interested in industrial organization, which seems to have a big impact on antitrust law. My question for you guys is where would a lawyer need to be employed to work in antitrust? Are positions mainly restricted to government? Also, how hard it is to get these jobs coming from a T-14 or top tier school? And if anyone is currently working in this field, how do you like it?

Thanks!

bikepilot

New

Re: Job Opportunities in Antitrust Law?

Post by bikepilot » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:15 am

I also have an econ background and was interested in antitrust. One maddening thing is most antitrust law is developed by lawyers and politicians with non-economic agendas and as such, the economic foundation of antitrust law is weak or non-existent if you really dig into it. Some economic background is probably still useful though and is especially useful if you want to get into antitrust policy or academic writing as opposed to advocacy.