Affect of undergraduate grades on IP positions Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Affect of undergraduate grades on IP positions

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:20 pm

I went to a school with a harsh curve in Electrical Engineering, so it seems that my undergraduate grades are bad to the typical person. I graduated around a 2.8. However, my transcript was decent enough to get into good graduate programs. In graduate school I received a decent GPA. Afterwards, I worked as an electrical engineer for several years in a high-tech industry. I've presented at conferences, advanced to a senior position, etc.

However, I've struck out so far in terms of OCI at my first-tier school. One firm told me that they don't hire anyone with a sub-3.0 GPA in an undergrad program. I was shocked since I'm 29... and being judged on what I did when I was 18-22! Is this common? Anyone else experience something like this in an employment context (obviously we're judged on undergraduate grades in law school admissions)?

Wavelet

New

Re: Affect of undergraduate grades on IP positions

Post by Wavelet » Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:27 pm

What's a "decent" grad school GPA? Graduate school is curved very leniently, so unless it's >3.6, it's not going to impress most people in patent prosecution. What was your law school GPA (most patent litigation positions care very little about engineering GPA compared to law school GPA)? Are you really sure it's just your undergrad GPA bringing you down?