How important is 1L summer job? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Mich33

New

How important is 1L summer job?

Post by Mich33 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:34 am

Hey all! I have a quick question that I hope the wise minds of TLS will help me answer.

I have been working at a tiny firm (only 4 lawyers) for almost 2 years now. It's in my hometown and where I went to college. Next week, I will be moving 12 hours away to attend a T30 law school. On my last day of work, one of the lawyers approached me and offered me a job for next summer (the summer after 1L). It's a paid position and I'd make almost double what I make now. The firm I work for is in the process of expanding and they plan on doing OCI at the local tier 2 this August but they said the job is mine if I want it. So, I'm not sure what to do. I don't know whether I want to come home and work there after law school because I don't think the pay would be enough to cover the loans I'm taking out. Would I be an idiot to turn down a paid 1L position in an area where I would have very little expenses (I'd live at home)? Or is it stupid to take a position somewhere I don't want to work when I graduate unless I have no other options?

Thanks for any help y'all give. I know that in this economy, I should probably be thankful they're willing to pay me next summer.

dvd

Bronze

Re: How important is 1L summer job?

Post by dvd » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:36 am

`
Last edited by dvd on Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Danteshek

Gold