Pre-Law student internship - Public defender or DA? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Pre-Law student internship - Public defender or DA?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 04, 2010 2:01 pm

Hi
I am a college graduate but not yet a law student.
I have 2 offers to intern at either the public defender or state attorney's office (not in any particularly prestigious district).

What should my considerations be for picking either? How would either internship affect my chances at big law?
If i never want to work for the govt/as a DA then should I not to the DAs office?
Is either more (relatively) prestigious than the other?

Other personal considerations: I have a particular start date so whoever is more accomodating, I will pick that one and I want a particular division, so whoever gives it to me I may pick that office.

Thanks for the responses so far. Honestly I don't plan on working at either during my law school summers.
Last edited by Anonymous User on Wed May 05, 2010 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

reverendt

Bronze

Re: Pre-Law student internship - Public defender or DA?

Post by reverendt » Tue May 04, 2010 3:48 pm

If you mean a 0L internship, none of it is going to matter in the least.
Getting good grades in law school and doing something productive (and law related) with your 1L summer will matter. Not what you did before law school. No one will care.

McBean

New

Post by McBean » Wed May 05, 2010 11:48 am