How important is a good 1L Job? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How important is a good 1L Job?

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:43 pm

Give it to me straight, how much does where you work 1L summer really matter? I ask because I am currently in the top 5% at a T1 law school, thought I was a shoo-in to intern with a federal judge, government agency or federal prosecutor's office. So far, I've sent out hundreds of applications to all kinds of places, had a few interviews, no offers just yet. Getting a little worried, but still have a few more options upcoming.

Concerned about how my job prospects for summer associate positions after my 2L year might be affected based on the type of job I have after 1 year. Is this a reasonable concern?

Kohinoor

Gold

Re: How important is a good 1L Job?

Post by Kohinoor » Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:45 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Give it to me straight, how much does where you work 1L summer really matter? I ask because I am currently in the top 5% at a T1 law school, thought I was a shoo-in to intern with a federal judge, government agency or federal prosecutor's office. So far, I've sent out hundreds of applications to all kinds of places, had a few interviews, no offers just yet. Getting a little worried, but still have a few more options upcoming.

Concerned about how my job prospects for summer associate positions after my 2L year might be affected based on the type of job I have after 1 year. Is this a reasonable concern?