Safe bet at T25 vs. risking debt for T14 Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Ideal path forward?

Graduate in 3, 2 yrs free at Alabama or scholarship at T14
38%
Graduate in 4, 1 yr free at Alabama or scholarship at T14
No votes
Graduate in 4, attend T14 no matter what
63%

Total votes: 16

AR037

New

Safe bet at T25 vs. risking debt for T14

Post by AR037 » Mon Jan 09, 2023 3:31 pm

I am currently an undergraduate at the University of Alabama. With the scholarship I earned in high school, I am offered 5 years of full tuition for both undergraduate and graduate/law studies. My current plan was to graduate in 3 years (anticipating May 2024) with a double major and use 2 years of the scholarship for law school. However, with my GPA (anticipating 3.9-4.0) and LSAT (currently scoring 165-170 on PTs), I have a chance at actually scoring scholarship money at some T14 schools. I am concerned that I may be essentially wasting a year of money (books and housing are covered by my scholarship, so I essentially attend Alabama for free) and the "college experience" by graduating in 3 years just to end up not using my scholarship here. Parents are very unhelpful with this decision because they do not understand the level of difference between T14 schools vs. T25. We have some money saved for school but I am not sure how much because it is difficult to have a frank financial conversation with them. Any advice?

TLDR: Finish undergrad in 3 years and use 2 years full tuition scholarship at Alabama or graduate in 4 years and hope for a decent scholarship at T14. 3.9-4.0 anticipated GPA, 165-170 on LSAT PTs (trying to improve to 170-175 range), Illinois resident. Minor preference for Midwest and Southeast regions.

Rule23andMe

New

Re: Safe bet at T25 vs. risking debt for T14

Post by Rule23andMe » Mon Jan 09, 2023 9:26 pm