Retroactive withdrawal from undergrad institution for law school application. Help! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LawdyMissClawdy

New

Retroactive withdrawal from undergrad institution for law school application. Help!

Post by LawdyMissClawdy » Sat Oct 29, 2022 9:59 pm

Hey everyone. I also posted this on another forum but I figured I should try here too.

I'm 33 years old and in the final stages of perfecting my application materials for law school so that I have everything ready to go once I take the LSAT in June 2023. Many, many years ago I was an undergraduate student struggling with a then-undiagnosed autoimmune issue which turned out to be the most ridiculous disease ever: chronic idiopathic urticaria, aka "fuck you, you have hives all the time for absolutely no reason and there is no cure." I had bouts with CIU for three years, each for about a year at a time.

(I had trouble concentrating, sleeping, eating, doing daily tasks, and even just getting out of bed in the morning. When you have an outbreak of hives you look like a literal monster. It affects every part of your life, from your mental health to your physical. You are in pain, embarrassed, and the anxiety of constantly being itchy is through the roof. It is not fun. I also had to go to the hospital 3 times and get a shot of epinephrine because my face and throat swelled so much I couldn't breathe. It was very scary.).

Needless to say, I missed a lot of class. At a certain point I basically just stopped showing up and that landed me multiple WU grades which are basically punitive withdrawals. The thing is, when I did this I had zero idea I was going to to go law school in the future. I thought I could just still pay my tuition, which I was glad to do, and make up the classes at some future date. I have my own company so I wanted the degree for myself and not for an employer anyway.