undergrad transfer student gpa calculation question Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
AJFLY

New

undergrad transfer student gpa calculation question

Post by AJFLY » Wed Oct 12, 2022 10:05 pm

Hi,

I am new to the platform and have already read lots of insights! Really appreciate the community here.

I would like to ask a question regarding undergrad GPA calculation in law school admission. I am a transfer student who attends one college for two years and another for two years (will graduate from the latter). In self-assessing my undergrad gpa to the law school class profile median gpa, which calculation method should I use as a benchmark? Does LSAC combine the two or they are reported separately?

In my own case, I previously attended a top-30 college and my gpa was very close to perfect; however, after transferring to a top-10 college known for grade deflation, my gpa at the new institution is just slightly above 3.8.

I understand there are lots of variables to consider in law school application; but since GPA is a very important factor I really want to know how it will be calculated by the admission officers for undergrad transfer students.

Thanks for any comments in advance!

talons2250

Bronze

Re: undergrad transfer student gpa calculation question

Post by talons2250 » Thu Oct 13, 2022 10:00 pm

AJFLY wrote:
Wed Oct 12, 2022 10:05 pm
Hi,

I am new to the platform and have already read lots of insights! Really appreciate the community here.

I would like to ask a question regarding undergrad GPA calculation in law school admission. I am a transfer student who attends one college for two years and another for two years (will graduate from the latter). In self-assessing my undergrad gpa to the law school class profile median gpa, which calculation method should I use as a benchmark? Does LSAC combine the two or they are reported separately?