172 LSAT, 2.5gpa (Dropped medicine to do law) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
njet

New

172 LSAT, 2.5gpa (Dropped medicine to do law)

Post by njet » Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:33 pm

Hi, I graduated in 2020 from undergrad with a 2.5GPA in Biology. I was pressured by family to go to medical school (otherwise they wouldn't pay for school) & some extenuating circumstances. I had an undiagnosed learning and medical disorder for those 4 years in undergrad, and did poorly (not to mention I was studying a subject i wasn't interested in). I've since gone to therapy and gotten help for my problems, and have been working on myself since.

After some major life changes and hard work, i've decided to take the LSAT and scored in the 98th percentile.The thing is, my GPA is extremely bad, and I know when I apply to law schools, this would greatly detriment me. I want a chance to explain my situation, explain how I finally found my way to pursuing a career I have a genuine interest in.

Is going this route a good idea? Do I stand a chance at getting into any law schools? I've worked hard to be where I am today, undoubtedly after messing up when I was younger, but I feel I have a good reason for that, and have proved myself to be able to study with my LSAT score. Im not sure if law schools would just throw my application away once they see my GPA, or if, with a great rest of my application, I have a shot. I'm desperate for some advice as this is kind of a weird situation. Thanks

talons2250

Bronze

Re: 172 LSAT, 2.5gpa (Dropped medicine to do law)

Post by talons2250 » Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:37 pm