CPA need some advise for chose law school Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kenovic

New

CPA need some advise for chose law school

Post by kenovic » Sun Jul 10, 2022 5:11 am

Hi everyone, I'm from LA, I'm holding an active CPA license working at KPMG tax group. To the point, I need a JD degree to boost my future tax law career. I have bachelor degrees in economics and accounting and master in international business. But my GPA is only around 2.8, not really kind of top student, also English is not my first language, so I lack confidence in writing, especially my grammar is horrible. It doesn't mean I can't achieve in academics, like most Asian students, I work very hard and very seriously when I'm studying. I just really lack confidence. I'm planning to do the part-time JD program, and my goal is very clear, tax attorney. I don't necessarily need to pass the bar, but of course, it will be very helpful if I passed. I'm planning to go to a T3 or even T4 law school part-time JD program, maybe receive some form of scholarship, not sure if the part-time JD program has scholarships at all. The point is to get an ABA-approved JD degree.
Hope someone can give me some opinions, is my plan seems like a good choice or maybe I should come up with some other idea.

johndooley

Bronze

Re: CPA need some advise for chose law school

Post by johndooley » Sun Jul 10, 2022 9:35 pm

Why not ask your current employer for a guaranteed raise for obtaining the degree!? I went to a non prestigious law school. Attorneys there don’t really get tax law positions. More criminal law and medmal. Going was the best decision I ever made.

nealric

Post by nealric » Wed Jul 13, 2022 12:59 pm