Fired from legal assistant job Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
helloparanzem

New

Fired from legal assistant job

Post by helloparanzem » Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:36 pm

I am begging for advise. I have never been this stressed in my life.

I have 2 years of partially paid experience w an organization. Then 2 years of paid experience with a law firm. Both places will give good reference.

After these jobs and after undergrad, I took a job with another law firm for less than 4 months. I was fired for acting insubordinately, being rude to the boss/supervisor, and messing up filing of a certain court form. All brought to my attention on last day without warning.

Since, Ive begun working for a really really really good law firm, one of the most prestigious.

Im applying to t14-t30 law schools. Im really worried this will come back and bite me either in law school admissions or bar character and fitness.

Please help me. Should i disclose to law schools? If so, howV

nixy

Gold

Re: Fired from legal assistant job

Post by nixy » Mon Jun 20, 2022 4:05 pm

So, when you apply to law schools, they almost universally ask you to list all your past employment, and if you were fired from a job, why you were fired. You will answer honestly and not worry about it. It's not a C&F issue to get fired by a crappy boss, as long as you weren't fired for a reason that raises C&F concerns on its own - like embezzling funds, sharing a client's confidential information, or sleeping with a client. Being rude to a boss and screwing up a filing (as an assistant) aren't C&F issues. And if you otherwise have a track record of success in jobs - which you do - it will just be a brief blip.