Chapman (Full ride; conditional) vs USD ($33k; conditional)?? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Chapman or USD

Chapman (full ride; conditional)
38%
U of San Diego (33k scholarship; conditional)
63%

Total votes: 8

fab99

New

Chapman (Full ride; conditional) vs USD ($33k; conditional)??

Post by fab99 » Sun Apr 10, 2022 6:57 pm

Please help me decide between Chapman and University of San Diego - I am so torn!

I am an OC resident and have narrowed down my choices for 2022 to Chapman and USD. Their tuition is about the same. I received a higher scholarship from Chapman, which is closer, but USD has a higher ranking.

Chapman:
-40 min (one way) commute
-medium ranking in both OC and California, #118 in US
-Full ($59,500) scholarship, renewable for the 2nd and 3rd years IF I keep grades at or above a 2.9 GPA. Curve is set at 2.8.

USD:
-over 1 hour (one way) commute or need to relocate - relocation would be expensive
-medium/high ranking in California, #64 in US
-extremely beautiful campus and architecture, ranked most beautiful campus in the nation
-$33,000 scholarship, renewable for the 2nd and 3rd years IF I keep grades at or above a 2.86 GPA.
-75% of students had a 2.86+ GPA (in recent years)

What are your opinions on the two schools?
I wanted to go to UCI so badly, I'm afraid I am just not getting excited about Chapman. Friend and family say it's a great school. The fact that USD is ranked much higher in the US is quite enticing. But I have never even heard about University of San Diego Law before applying. What kind of reputation does it have? Attending there would require a major life shift and would put a lot of strain on my relationship. Also, I'm not thrilled about the conditional scholarships, but at least they allow us a fair comparison of the two schools in terms of financial risk.

Thank you in advance!

(Please do not recommend that I take the LSAT again. I got a 164 and have prolonged this process long enough.)