Law School Over 40? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
PerfectlyImperfect

New

Job Prospects for New Grad Over 40?

Post by PerfectlyImperfect » Tue Mar 29, 2022 12:53 pm

I returned to college and completed my undergrad degree as an adult (with two children). I majored in Criminal Justice with plans to attend law school. Ultimately, I decided it wasn't the right time with my children being so small, so I became a teacher instead. Now that the kids are older, I can't get the idea of law school out of my mind. There's a part time evening program nearby (nothing prestigious; very affordable) and I'm seriously considering it. My only hesitation is, assuming I survive the LSAT (again) and law school, what is the employment outlook for a new grad in their late 40s? I'm not looking to get rich and a big law job with insane billable hours probably isn't for me. Thoughts?

PerfectlyImperfect

New

Law School Over 40?

Post by PerfectlyImperfect » Tue Mar 29, 2022 1:48 pm

I almost went to law school a little over 10 years ago, but decided against it. Now, the kids are older (as am I) and, after teaching for 10 years, law school is nagging at me again. Anyone out there have advice for a 40-something considering part-time/evening law school?

(I've posted in another forum inquiring about post law school job prospects, but wanted to post here as well for information specific to the law school experience.)

nixy

Gold

Re: Job Prospects for New Grad Over 40?

Post by nixy » Tue Mar 29, 2022 1:51 pm