Help! Should I still apply? 3.62/169 Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Should I apply this year or wait?

Apply this year
18%
Wait a year
82%

Total votes: 11

sltu2

New

Help! Should I still apply? 3.62/169

Post by sltu2 » Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:53 am

Hey guys, I need some advice.

I just got back my November LSAT score this morning and I received a 169. I'm pretty disappointed with this score since I know I could have done better and my aspirations are T14. I expected a 170+ on the exam, but of course, it's normal to underperform on the actual thing. So here's my predicament:

I'm currently a senior in undergrad and my 3.62 is pretty much set in stone. Given my GPA, the lower T14s are a reach with a 169 and I definitely won't be getting much $$. The issue is, I need a substantial amount of aid to attend law school; I won't be attending any school at sticker. Since I'm aiming for T14, it seems like reaching my goal is fairly unlikely for this cycle.

I am not opposed to taking a year off between undergrad and law school, although my preference is to go to law school sooner rather than later. However, my numbers aren't awful, and a part of me knows that it's not a bad idea to shoot my shot and see what I can get. I don't want to waste money on application fees though, and I feel like even if I get decent offers I'll always be wondering how much more I could have gotten if I just waited a year. I also know that this cycle is not looking to be much better than last year's.

Should I even bother applying for law schools this year given my T14 goals, or should I take an extra year to prepare and boost my LSAT/apps before applying?

Here's some other info/stats that might be relevant:

Majors: BS in Aerospace Engineering, BA in Philosophy (w/honors)
GPA: 3.62 (cum), 3.95 (non-engineering)