odds of getting into a decent school with a low GPA Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Lucy001

New

odds of getting into a decent school with a low GPA

Post by Lucy001 » Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:28 pm

Hi,
What do you all think my chances of getting into a decent school (top 20’s-50’s) are with a 3.48 GPA. I got straight A’S and B’s my first three years of undergrad but gave up my last two semesters (mostly because of COVID and personal life study) and that dropped my GPA. I just started studying for the lsat but have already improved from a 153 diagnostic to a 160 in less than a month. I plan on studying for at least another 4-6 months. I also didn’t do any extra curricular activities in undergrad, and don’t have any academic letters of recommendation (i worked full time so I only have professional ones.)

crazywafflez

Silver

Re: odds of getting into a decent school with a low GPA

Post by crazywafflez » Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:15 am

This just really depends on your goals: Yes, you can get into a T1 (roughly, schools ranked 20-60ish) with a 3.5 low 160s. I went to a T1 on a near full scholly and am really happy with my decision. I enjoy my job, however, I do not make a biglaw salary. Most T1 schools just do well in their market, so, I'd go to the school you get the best scholarship to in the market you want to practice in. If you are top 20% or so, you'll be competitive for biglaw, if not, you'll have a gig as an attorney in your home market.
But if your goals are biglaw in DC or something, you're going to need to secure top notch grades from a T14 school, which means you're gonna do need crush the LSAT (170s). But yeah, in sum, if you are cool practicing in Arizona or Tennessee, go to those state schools. If you want to practice in Biglaw in DC, ASU isn't better than UTk, nor will either get you there really anyways, and you'll need to look into going to a T14 school (the top 14 schools).

nixy

Gold

Post by nixy » Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:37 pm