I have a buuuuunch of Ws on my transcripts. Will this hurt me? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
eleventwentyfour

New

I have a buuuuunch of Ws on my transcripts. Will this hurt me?

Post by eleventwentyfour » Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:51 pm

My situation is kind of unique and honestly a mess and I don't want to sugarcoat it.

I am a non-trad student in that I have a lot of work experience and took a while to graduate undergrad with a bunch of false starts in between. Last year I found out from a classmate that I could retroactively withdraw from some earlier courses from 7-ish years ago during my first stint at undergrad. At the time I was dealing with an at-the-time unknown medical issue which left me in almost constant pain and made it super hard to concentrate on school. Fast forward a few years and I found out I actually have a rare and debilitating auto-immune disease (which is being managed now and does not inconvenience me more than maybe once a year when I have a bad flare-up).

Anyway, I got the retroactive withdrawals because I had ample evidence of a medical issue. My school actually let me withdraw from all the semesters in which I was in constant chronic pain. So I'm left with literally like 30+ Ws on my transcript which, even though I have a valid excuse, probably looks bad to adcomms. Like I said, it is a MESS.

The silver lining in all this is that it left me with an LSAC GPA of 4.0. It's a blessing in a way that I took so long to graduate and took time off to figure out my medical issues because once I went back to school with a proper diagnosis and everything under control, I literally got all As and A+s and graduated magna cum laude.

Assuming I do well on the LSAT (170+), will the bonkers amount of Ws hurt my application? Or is law school truly a numbers game and it doesn't matter? Should I write an addendum? Do I have to go into specifics about my disease? Looking for any advice.

Thanks!

AJordan

Silver