Should I Apply This Year or Wait Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gigem1620

New

Should I Apply This Year or Wait

Post by gigem1620 » Sun Aug 15, 2021 8:40 pm

Hello! I graduated from Texas A&M in the Spring of 2020. As everybody knows, it was arguably the worst time to graduate from college in recent memory. I lost interest in applying to law school (I planned to take one gap year after undergrad) at that time and figured I could just seek other opportunities.

Now, fast forward two years later, and I am once again interested in applying to law school. I recently landed an entry level job at a law firm after working at a fast food restaurant for a few months (had to settle for whatever job hired me at the time). However, I have not really started LSAT prep. Last time I did a practice test, I got a 145. Can I get up to a 160 or 165 in time for the November LSAT? Or is it best to wait until next year. Would waiting to start three years after finishing undergrad look bad?

BTW, the schools I am most interested are University of Houston, St. Mary's, and South Texas, all in-state. What kind of LSAT do I aim for with a 3.29 GPA?

cavalier1138

Re: Should I Apply This Year or Wait

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon Aug 16, 2021 9:53 am

First, don't apply until you actually have a decent LSAT in hand. What "decent" means is determined by your goals.

So more importantly, what are you hoping to do with your degrees? St. Mary's and South Texas have terrifying outcomes for their graduates, so I'm curious to hear what you think you'll be doing after graduation and how you plan on paying for school.

crazywafflez

Silver

Post by crazywafflez » Mon Aug 16, 2021 10:31 am