Reapplicant/Splitter Looking for Some Advice Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
NotSoFamousAmos

New

Reapplicant/Splitter Looking for Some Advice

Post by NotSoFamousAmos » Sat Jul 24, 2021 6:27 pm

In the 2019-2020 cycle, I applied about as late as you possibly can, and came out with results that were alright given my stats at the time and the lateness of my apps. However, in May of 2020, my LSAT score popped up from the mid-high 160s to a 174, and I ultimately decided to withdraw from the WLs I was riding, get some work experience, and reapply in the 2021-2022 cycle. Well, after the horrendous cycle so many people here have endured, and seeing people concerned about how splitters like myself might end up this cycle, I'm wondering should I sit this cycle out too and wait one more year to apply? I graduated from college in the Spring of 2020, and I've been working a job that's relatively enjoyable - it's also a job in a field I could see myself returning to after law school as an attorney, but I don't want to be super-specific, since it's sort of niche.

My stats are a 3.6high GPA, my LSAT is a 174, and I'm a non-URM. Sorry if that's not a ton of detail, and if you need anymore info, I'll gladly edit the post.

As far as my school goals go, I'm really just hoping to crack the T14, and I'd say GULC with some sort of scholarship is truly a dream outcome for me. I've also learned from working my current job that I don't think I'm going to be the biglaw-type, even for just a few years, so, naturally, I am getting more and more debt-averse. Because of that, if I make it into a T14 at sticker, I really don't see it being super-likely that I'll pull the trigger and attend.