GRE/Dual-Degree Applicant - Should I Retake? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
granolagoddess1

New

GRE/Dual-Degree Applicant - Should I Retake?

Post by granolagoddess1 » Wed May 12, 2021 3:23 pm

Hello!
I am a recent college graduate, current 7th grade teacher, and prospective law school attendee. I want to pursue a dual JD/M.Ed degree and my dream school is Columbia.

I plan on applying with the following stats:
-T20 undergraduate institution
-GPA 3.95
-2 years teaching experience
-GRE score of 165V 159Q

With my teaching load, I am not sure I have time to retake the GRE. I was wondering if my GPA is high enough to compensate? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

The Lsat Airbender

Gold

Re: GRE/Dual-Degree Applicant - Should I Retake?

Post by The Lsat Airbender » Wed May 12, 2021 5:16 pm

We really don't know what's up w/r/t the GRE. But your GPA puts you in a pretty solid position as-is. The only obvious improvement you could make would be a 173+ LSAT score—which is risky, because a lower LSAT might hurt you.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu May 13, 2021 8:39 am

Schools have been relatively opaque about the GRE, but information from schools that have been more open (like Berkeley) would suggest that you are not an ideal candidate to apply with a GRE score. Based on what those schools have said, the ideal GRE applicant is going to have a serious amount of work experience and/or a graduate degree in an unrelated field, such as engineering. You're only two years out of undergrad, and you don't have any advanced degrees. So although we don't have good benchmarks for GRE-takers, it sounds like you should be thinking about the LSAT (and I disagree that only a 173+ would improve your application; your GRE scores are not 99th percentile).