Considering Law as Second Career Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
scigradstudent

New

Considering Law as Second Career

Post by scigradstudent » Mon May 10, 2021 12:01 am

I am mid-30s, have an M.S. in Mathematics and a Ph.D. in a STEM (science) field. I currently work as a research assistant in that field. Undergrad GPA was 4.0; graduate a bit lower (would estimate ~3.85). I am considering a second career in law.

1) How is the job market for JDs right now compared with a few years ago? Is this a realistic career move for someone with my background?

2) Is there a particular practice area that might be a better fit/easier transition for someone with my background?

3) My preliminary interest is in criminal law; perhaps I would pursue a PD position. I live in a western US state, have a house and do not want to relocate. Is this a realistic possibility?

4) I would like to avoid taking on excessive debt to finance the JD, particular if my career prospects are uncertain. Would attending a part time, evening, or online program limit my opportunities? Is there a program that you recommend? What are my admissions prospects?

5) What kind of financial aid could someone with my background expect? (No LSAT score yet.)

I hope my questions weren't too vague and thank you for any advice!

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Considering Law as Second Career

Post by CanadianWolf » Mon May 10, 2021 10:25 am

Without an actual LSAT score it is difficult to address possibility of merit scholarship money offers. Nevertheless, with a 4.0 undergraduate GPA, a score in the high 160s (or above, of course) should yield very generous scholarship offers if you apply to the appropriate law schools.