Canadian JD or wait for a year for a better American JD? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kingzjq

New

Canadian JD or wait for a year for a better American JD?

Post by kingzjq » Fri Apr 02, 2021 1:06 am

Hello everyone, I am an international undergraduate student studying in a top school in Canada. I have accepted an offer from a top Canadian JD program. It is my first Canadian law school choice and I am happy with my result this year.

However, I am still very tempted by the top US law school, especially HYS. Not only those schools are so prestigious, but also the income from US law firms is much higher than in Canada. So the top 3 US law schools are still very attractive to me.

So I am not sure if I should re-take the LSAT this summer just for a better shot to get into HYS? My highest LSAT score for this cycle is mid-160s. If I can receive a 170+ in August, I would like to try to apply for HYS this fall while going to my Canadian JD program. If not, I am still very happy to do my Canadian JD. I won't lose anything except the time for leisure and the time with family and friends, and except the time to purchase LSAT study materials.

My LSAC Canadian CGPA is 4.10+, which is above the 75th percentile for all US law schools. I am also sure that I have strong recommendation letters from two of my professors. I also have many work experience to talk about during my undergrad studies (I have TA, RA, and many other work experience)...

Another factor to consider is that I have studied for this exam for 7 to 8 months. So how much I can improve for another 3-4 months of studies is another question. But I am sure that I won't be very stressed studying the LSAT this time since I am kind of secured in a great Canadian school.