GRE Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
007sean

New

GRE

Post by 007sean » Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:07 pm

GRE is now accepted also by Stanford and Duke Law schools. The trend continues.

texikat

New

Re: GRE

Post by texikat » Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:02 am

Did anyone read what the GRE medians are at any of the law schools accepting it?

gekko

New

Post by gekko » Wed Sep 23, 2020 6:34 am

I want to caution people NOT to do this. I have a masters in another field and used the GRE to apply to six law schools a couple cycles ago. I was at or above the GPA mid range and also at or above the median GRE range if you use the LSAT conversion tool. Result of admits? 0 out of 6, including one that can only be called a "super safety." I applied in the same cycle late after taking an LSAT to seven schools, getting three admits, three wait lists and a no. Again, these were PEER schools that should have been harder since I applied later. As I documented here before, one school never even came up with a result with a GRE admit, showing as "in limbo" on LSAC despite many contacts and many people who simply didn't know how the GRE process worked in the admissions office. Some of the schools that had admissions reps call specifically asked if I planned to also take the LSAT in such a way that implied it would be better to do so.

Law schools care about the LSAT. Period. You're not going to change this. You're not special. You are not going to find a way to "do it your way." You're a number to them. (Or two numbers.) It is right and you're not going to change it. If US News rated schools on how devoted their students are to Charles Manson or how many Pez dispensers they owned, that would be what law schools cared about. Don't fight this to save four hours of your time and $200. It isn't worth the missed opportunity and hassle, not to mention the scholarship money much more likely tied to an LSAT.

The Lsat Airbender

Gold