Ivy League PhD - does it help? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tax_nerd

New

Ivy League PhD - does it help?

Post by tax_nerd » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:07 pm

Hi TLS Community,

I'm applying to law school this fall (2020) and am wondering if/how my "softs" will enhance my admissions chances. I just took the LSAT for the first time and scored a 167. UGPA is 3.92 from a public college but with double major and triple minor and tons of accolades. I graduated 5 years ago. LGBTQ+ white male from Missouri.

I am finishing up a PhD in Philosophy from one of the Harvard/Yale/Pton schools with a dissertation that makes sense with my interest in tax law. Lots of language skills (fluent in German, French, Italian, and I can read Ancient Greek, Latin, and Hebrew). President of the student government representing several thousand students. Have published book reviews in some serious academic journals.

Even with a 3.92 UGPA, my 167 LSAT score makes Yale/Harvard/Stanford basically unrealistic. Berkeley/UVA/Penn is probably more realistic -- NYU is probably a stretch. I am planning to retake the LSAT in April and a third time if necessary, and I hope to increase my score at least 3 pts. But assuming that I am hypothetically not able to increase my score, do my PhD and other "softs" boost me to any appreciable degree? Since they are academic in nature, do they give more of a boost at a place like Yale than at the other schools?

My dream scenario would be to be able to choose between Harvard and Stanford.

Any help is appreciated!

cavalier1138

Re: Ivy League PhD - does it help?

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:22 pm

The PhD might make a difference on the margins, but not as dramatically as you're hoping it will.

Johnnybgoode92

Silver

Post by Johnnybgoode92 » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:35 pm

I understand the academic job market is incredibly difficult. But what do you plan to do in law and why not directly use your phd?

bob311

Bronze